Perseverance

Two weeks ago my advisory students participated in a challenge program. Back when I was a student I found these kinds of programs corny and uncomfortable and I never bought into them. Never. At all. How surprising that now as a teacher I found the experience to be pure gold. It gave me insights into my students that will help me as their advisor over the next four years, and as their math teacher this year.

Working together outside of a school context my students set (and met) goals and completed tasks that challenged them. Three who had seemed quiet and reserved demonstrated leadership qualities I did not expect or anticipate. One who quickly lost focus in the classroom was sometimes able to stay focused on these tasks (and sometimes not). One who had seemed “too cool for school” was among the most eager to get involved in the problem-solving and the action. They all had a willingness to stick with tasks even after repeated attempts did not seem to get them any closer to a solution.

The task that surprised me the most was called “Ramble Road.” It consisted of a zig-zagging balance beam built from a set of 2 x 4s that included both inclines and horizontal components. Our facilitator told the group that this represented the school year and that we needed to get everyone from the beginning to the end. The catch: you could not move on the balance beam unless you were connected to (touching) another person who was also on the beam with you. The first pair of students made substantial progress before one fell off the beam, and a second pair also managed to traverse a significant distance before one fell off. However, after this initial success, no students managed to stay on the beam beyond the first short segment – for at least 20 minutes. In spite of this, they kept climbing back up and trying. Over, and over, and over again. They were persistent.

Which brings me back to my classroom. The CCSS mathematical practices are a big part of my thinking about instructional design these days, and number one on the list is:

“Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.”

What are the characteristics of a task that makes students not just willing, but eager, to persevere? How can I teach them to persevere? I can’t claim this as a hallmark of my classroom yet – but it’s where I want to get.

I think the noticing & wondering that Max Ray and the folks at The MathForum describe can help students feel they “own” the mathematics. Ownership makes people want to persevere. I’m trying to do more of this.

I also think Dan Meyer’s approach with the hook in Act 1 of his 3 Acts creates buy-in from students that leads them to stick with challenges. (Maybe someday I’ll even invent my own…)

In my own experience, I’ve noticed that students are willing to persist when

  • they feel empowered and capable
  • they feel they are making progress
  • they have a framework for how to proceed when they are stuck
  • they feel it is safe to try new things
  • they are having fun or because they enjoy a challenge
  • they are well-matched to the challenges the task offers (zone of proximal development)

I’ve also noticed that some students are more willing to persist than others. Is this more because of students’ mindsets, or more because the tasks I’ve created are better suited to some than others? (Probably a combination, and further incentive to become better at differentiation.)

What else have you noticed leads students to persevere? And how do we as teachers help them get there?

Back at the challenge program… In the end, my students ignored the time limit our facilitator had set for the task (anticipating frustration and eventual disengagement). They refused to quit and they rose to the challenge, managing to get everyone, including me, across Ramble Road. I’ll be thinking about this experience this year as I design instruction. Here’s hoping for a year that I’m better able to help keep my students getting back up. Again, and again, and again.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Perseverance

  1. In my own experience, I’ve noticed that students are willing to persist when

    they feel empowered and capable
    they feel they are making progress
    they have a framework for how to proceed when they are stuck
    they feel it is safe to try new things
    they are having fun or because they enjoy a challenge
    they are well-matched to the challenges the task offers (zone of proximal development)

    Okay, I hate reducing complex things to bulleted lists, but that’s a keeper 😉

  2. “appropriate constructive feedback” — bringing to mind the generally very difficult student I worked with who usually took between 4 and 8 minutes to get from “can you help me with…” to wanting to tell me all the things her teacher did wrong… but when I thought to begin the “help” with finding a couple of things to compliment, it just changed the dynamics.
    Still, that is something that helps to create the “feels it’s safe to try new things.” Good heavens, if a class has that list, and the heating system works, great things will happen 😉
    http://resourceroomblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/like-a-back-float/ helps me figure out ways to “get there” and to remember why my students might not seem eager all the time…

  3. Pingback: Independent Learners « pleasureinlearning

Leave a Reply

